Board - Who Are We?

The Southeast Texas Workforce Development Board, dba Workforce Solutions Southeast Texas, is one of 28 Workforce Boards in the state of Texas that is responsible for leading and governing the region’s workforce system. As an administrative body, it provides oversight for employment and training programs in our area. Additionally, the Board is responsible for strategic planning to address workforce issues for a three county region. The Workforce Solutions Southeast Texas region consists of the counties of Hardin, Jefferson and Orange.

The Workforce Development Board consists of up to thirty (30) members. Of these members, fifty-two percent (52%) are employers from the private sector who consistently provide input regarding the needs of employers. The other 48% is comprised of representatives from other entities, such as education, economic development, and other community-based organizations, which ensure that other workforce needs, are also addressed regarding jobseekers and other targeted populations. Members are appointed by the Chief Elected Officials of the region with final approval by the Governor. The region’s chief elected officials are the County Judges of Hardin, Jefferson and Orange and the Mayor of Beaumont.

The Board employs twelve staff who are responsible for program planning, monitoring and reporting. The Board staff may be reached at 510 Park St, Suite 200, Beaumont, TX 77701 or by phone at 409.719.4750. The Board meetings are normally held on the first Tuesday of each month at 9:30am at the above address. Meeting dates are posted on this website.


“Equip Southeast Texas with the skills and knowledge that meet the needs of employers to foster the region’s economic growth.”


“A world class, competitive workforce for Southeast Texas.”

The Board delivers workforce service via three Workforce Solutions offices which are located in Orange, Beaumont and Port Arthur. The Board has contractors who staff these Workforce Solutions Southeast Texas locations:

510 Park St, Suite 200
Beaumont, TX 77701
Port Arthur
3901 Twin City Hwy
Port Arthur, TX 77642
2415 N 16th Street
Orange, TX 77630
Hardin County
Silsbee Public Library
295 N 4th Street
Silsbee, TX 77656

There are many services available through our website and we invite you to explore, as well as, chat with Workforce Solutions staff if you have questions or need assistance.

Executive Director & Chief Elected Officials

Marilyn Smith
Executive Director
Southeast Texas Workforce Development Board
Becky Ames
Mayor - City of Beaumont
Jeff Branick
Lead CEO
County Judge - Jefferson County
Judge Stephen Brint Carlton
County Judge - Orange County
Judge Wayne McDaniel
County Judge - Hardin County

Board Members

Roxanne Acosta-Hellberg
Get Recovery, Inc.
Ashley Alemayehu
Exxon Mobil Corporation
Dr. Shannon Allen
Beaumont Independent School District
Viola Bostic
Medical Center of SE TX – Victory Campus
Burnie Burnistine
Sue Daniels
Early Learning Pre-School & Child Care Center
Jerome Delafosse
Valero Energy Corporation - Port Arthur Refinery
Carey Georgas
Cravens Insurance Agency
Susan Harmon
DuPont Sabine River Works
Jamie Hogge
CASA (Court Appointed Special Advocates of SE TX)
Dr. Lonnie Howard
Lamar Institute of Technology
Regina Lindsey
Greater Beaumont Chamber of Commerce
Luan Mai
Wal-mart Supercenter
Bill Nickum
Nickum Insurance Agency
Jerry Wayne Pillsbury
Sabine Area Labor Council
Danny Prosperie
IBEW Local 479
Verna Rutherford
MOTIVA Enterprises LLC
Karl Segura
Entergy of Texas
Stephanie Semien
Texas Health & Human Services Commission
Dr. J. Michael Shahan
Lamar State College
Rickey L. Simmons, III
Triple S Industrial Corporation
Steven Slauson
Texas Workforce Commission
Benny Smith
Greater Orange Area Literacy Services
Anna Tanton
Silsbee Oaks Health Care LLP
Jeff Warden
Plumbers Local Union #68
Harold W. Whitfield
Department of Assistive & Rehabilitative Services (DARS)